Inserting your sketch in a Jetpack Compose Screen

Hi, I’m working on a small app for Android that started as a processing for Android sketch. At some point I wanted to add some UI but I felt stuck with the current offering of the processing GUI libraries (Which is a subject I would love to talk about with interested people).

So I exported my sketch as an Android Studio Project and copy pasted the generated PApplet in a new Android Studio project. Now Google promotes this new Jetpack Compose framework to do GUI, which is not exactly the same technology as the View/Fragment system used by Processing Android. But I wanted to mix compose GUI and my sketch underneath it.

I’m not experienced in Android Development so I struggled a bit but I found a solution that I will describe here.
All the new code is in kotlin.

1. Your activity must extends AppCompatActivity
class MainActivity : AppCompatActivity() {
    override fun onCreate(savedInstanceState: Bundle?) {
        super.onCreate(savedInstanceState)
        setContent {
            MainMenu(activity = this)
        }
    }

Here my main activity will show the sketch, so it’s an AppCompatActivity. You can also see that my MainMenu composable function receives this as an argument, we’ll get back on this later.

1. Using Box to overlay GUI and Sketch

Box (Compose layout basics  |  Jetpack Compose  |  Android Developers) seems to be the way to make things overlap in Jetpack Compose. So I called my SketchView composable inside a Box and added other UI elements after it. Notice that we pass the activity to the SketchView composable.

@Composable
fun MainMenu(activity: AppCompatActivity) {
    MyTheme {
        // A surface container using the 'background' color from the theme
        Surface(modifier = Modifier.fillMaxSize(), color = MaterialTheme.colorScheme.background)) {
                Box {
                    SketchView(activity)
                    // Custom UI
                    Column (