Importing a "Java Processing" library into py5

Hello,
I’m a beginner and a new py5 user and I’m very enthusiastic about this new version of Processing.
I read in the tutorial that you could use “Processing java” libraries with the camera3D example. Is it possible to import other libraries? I’m trying to import “Peasycam” but without success.

I’m trying

import jpype.imports
import py5_tools
py5_tools.add_jars(‘/jars’)
from peasycam import Peasycam

Thanks for your help

2 Likes

As far as I know, users can’t run py5 code in the Processing 4 editor. Usually you would need to use an editor called ‘Thonny’ with a py5-plugin. An alternative would be to use an older version of Processing (3.5.4); it does support Python, but not py5, which is new and hopefully will be added to the Processing editor in the future.

Yes, I use py5 with ‘Thonny’. In the py5 references they explain a way to import ‘java’ libraries, and it works with the ‘camera3D’ library. But I try with other libraries but without success…
Yes, I hope that in the future py5 will be added to the Processing editor. :+1:

@tabreturn can you shed any light on this?

@hx2A what do you think?

@Gof you can import other Processing libraries without needing py5_tools if your sketch folder is organized like so:

sketch001/
├─ sketch.py
├─ jars/
│  ├─ library01.jar
│  ├─ library02.jar

That said, the code snippet you shared seems to have one minor bug: the path to your jars folder is absolute /jars instead of relative ./jars. Try py5_tools.add_jars('jars') or py5_tools.add_jars('./jars').

2 Likes

Thanks @mcintyre, you’re right I don’t need to use py5_tools !
It works like this

import py5
import jpype.imports

from peasy import PeasyCam

def setup():
    global cam
    py5.size(400,400,py5.P3D)
    sketch = py5.get_current_sketch()
    cam = PeasyCam(sketch,500)

def draw():
    py5.background(200,0,50)
    py5.rotate_y(py5.frame_count*0.01)
    py5.box(100)

py5.run_sketch()
2 Likes