If Else Not Working Properly - Doesn't Work

I’m a complete novice with Processing. I took lessons in Java and C++ years ago and am just now getting back into things so I figured I’d check this out.

I have this code and it seems defective. When I press B, it works fine so far, but when I press A, it seems to go ahead and run the code for pressing B as well despite the fact the number with the variable is set to 1, not 2.

The screen displays the output for pressing A with the output for pressing B directly on top of it. This also happens when pressing any key other than A or B.

Here is the part of the code in question:

void keyPressed() {

int keyIndex = 3;

{if (key == 'A' || key == 'a') 

keyIndex = -1;

}{ if (key == 'B' || key == 'b') 

keyIndex = -2;

}

{if (keyIndex == -1) 

// If it's A, go to page x

background(0);

textSize(25);

text("placeholder text",10,30);

text("press C to...",100,300);

text("press D to...",100,400);

}

if (keyIndex == -2) {

background(0);}

textSize(25);{

text("press E to...",100,300);

text("press F to...",100,400);

} { 

}

}

Any help is appreciated. I can’t seem to find a lot of good resources on this subject. Please do not suggest I watch some video, I’ve looked everywhere and just can’t figure out what is wrong here. I’m not up for solving some puzzle so I’d like to be told directly what is going on. Thanks!

1 Like

what i noticed first is the program structure by { }
looks confusing.

pls start in a new/other sketch with simple example and DEBUG with print like

void setup() {
  println("not forget to click on draw window first!");
}

void draw() {
}

void keyPressed() {
  if ( key == 'a' ) { 
    println("a");
  }
}

for
if else
see here

1 Like

OK so this does get something in the console, but it’s supposed to go in the draw window. It does seem to do something though so thanks.

How do I get it to go on a draw window now?