High resolution video mapping

Hello everyone !

I’m new to Digital Arts and I would like to know if Processing is capable to handle something like 4 live video streams (2K to 4K) in 60 fps when manipulating them along with other high resolution videos already on the computer in order to map the whole thing throughout multiple projectors and even recording the output in a realtime theater performance context including kinekt / video analysis ?

If not, are these limitations linked to the computer or by the fact Processing is based on JAVA; should I use OpenFrameworks instead ?

Thank you in advance and sorry my poor english !

Best regards,
C. B.

1 Like

hi! welcome to the forum!

I think it really depends on what you want to do and what equipment you have. Where are the videos coming from - are they attached to the computer with USB capture, ethernet or over network? are you using external software like madmapper for video mapping, or are you planning to build your own? how complex is the mapping, is it just deforming on a quad plane or do you project on sagrada familia?

And what is the purpose of kinect? Are you using it to track bodies / movements to affect the visuals? Or is it just for documentation?

I wouldn’t immediately say that Java (processing) is slow and C++ (openFramework) is fast. Nevertheless in this case you need to do some low level programming (most likely with shader) for a better performance, and depending on what library you use, openFrameworks may be easier as there is more variety of user-contributed libraries. In that sense, maybe commercial tools like TouchDesigner have better support. Realistically, in the end I would make a compromise on the resolution, framerate and/or something else based on the time frame and budget of the project.

1 Like

Thank you Micuat for taking the time to answer me.

At the moment the project is not fully defined : in particular how I plan to connect the GoPro and the Canon 7D to the computer… Anyway !