Help creating an ArrayList of color values

Hello -

I am trying to create an ArrayList of color values so I can utilize the features it has for dynamically slotting values in and out at various places. But as color is a primitive data type, it will not work in an array list. I have read that the value can be “contained” within in an object. But I have not found any examples of how to make write this class in Processing. I am still quite new to OOP, and ONLY have experience with processing so far, so I am having a brain tangle trying to conceive how to do it. I have read that Java has these built in but the examples shown in Java aren’t making sense to me yet.

A bit more info, I am using a for loop to generate the series of colors I want to put in the array. SO using an object starts to seem almost like its a function… and that makes me feel more confused at this point. But I am sure it will make sense eventually.

Can someone show me how to write this in Processing?

Here are the threads I found.

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

• Toof
2 Likes

Okay, step 1 : make the class

class ColorContainer {

color col1=color(0);

ColorContainer(color c_) {
   col1=c_;
} // the constructor

} // the class 

See reference class and website | tutorials | objects

Step 2 : before setup ()

ArrayList<ColorContainer> listC = new ArrayList();

Step 3

In setup make a for loop using lerpColor

for(int i=0;i<100;i++) {
float amt=map(i,0,100,0,1);// tells point between 2 colors for lerpColor 
color c1=color(255,0,0);
color c2=color(0,255,0);
listC.add(new ColorContainer(lerpColor(c1,c2,amt));
} // for

https://processing.org/reference/lerpColor_.html

Step 4
usage is fill(listC.get(3).col1); for example

3 Likes