Help building a distributed canvas

Hello processing forum. I have questions to ask because i’m new to processing and i’m still confused.
I will write my questions below.

I want to make a distributed scetch which is shown on one machine while other machine(s) send the desired scetch back to the first machine.
I guess i’m using the net library and i create a server and a client.

1)Which method am i supposed to use to send back to the server the whole scetch i have created on the client ?

1. Is it possible to assign a client to send a portion on the created scetch back to the server ? How can i accomplish that ?

Thanks for reading and im waiting for a response from more experienced Processing users than me.

This is a pretty big question, and it’s going to be hard to give you one specific answer.

Like many things in programming, there isn’t just one way to do this. How you approach it really depends on you and your context more than anything.

But speaking generally, I would try to break your problem down into smaller steps and take those steps on one at a time. can you get a simple client-server working where you send a hard-coded message between them? The Network library might be helpful.

After you have that working, then you can think about how you’d send more complicated data. Good luck!

4 Likes

So to understand your question, do you want to share what one person sees in the screen, or a portion of it, in another machine through a network? Or are you looking for an interactive experience between the machines?

Kf

I will discribe it as silmple as i can.

Im using multiple raspberry pis which are plugged in to the network.

First step: I want my entire canvas created on one raspberry to show up on another raspberry.

Second step: I want each raspberry to send a portion of the canvas, to the “master” raspberry (aka server) , so the whole canvas is depicted there.

Thanks for your interest and i hope i did not confuse you more.