Getting started with Shaders

Hi folks. I’ve enjoyed and recommend https://thebookofshaders.com/. I find the subject fascinating and have successfully run a few other people’s shaders. However I have an embarrassingly basic question. When I try to run their (Book of Shaders) example code below I get the following error "Cannot compile fragment shader:ERROR:0:9’<'syntax error " I’ve noticed that all of the shader examples included with Processing use a file form marked .glsl instead of .fragment…is there something I am missing in terms of formatting? Thanks.

PShader shader;

void setup() {
  size(640, 360, P2D);
  noStroke();

// Load and compile shader
  shader = loadShader("shader.frag");
}

void draw() {
  // Set uniforms
  shader.set("u_resolution", float(width), float(height));
  shader.set("u_mouse", float(mouseX), float(mouseY));
  shader.set("u_time", millis() / 1000.0);

// Replace the default pipeline programs with our shader
  shader(shader);

// Draw a billboard
  rect(0,0,width,height);
}

void keyPressed(){
  // Reload shader everytime a key is press
  shader = loadShader("shader.frag");
}
1 Like

What’s inside shader.frag? The file name should not matter but the error seems to indicate that the file has a syntax error…

Oh I just realized that when I tried to download the shader individually from Github I downloaded a link to the page. I just downloaded their whole gitHub master file it works.

However, I imagine that I will probably have other questions as I go. I wonder if we can keep this thread going for questions.

Eventually I want to write a shader that will basically act like a blend(MULTIPLY) filter on video. I’ve gotten that kind of code running without a shader but it really puts a strain on my computer. This may be some time later in the future. I’d like to get a firmer grasp on the basics.

Thanks for your help.