Beginner: how to run examples from 'The Book of Shaders'

Hello and thank you,

I am an absolute beginner with minimal knowledge of coding and I started working trough the examples of ‘The Book of Shaders’ ( https://thebookofshaders.com)
I am trying to get the example code to work in Processing, for example:

#ifdef GL_ES
precision mediump float;
#endif

uniform vec2 u_resolution;
uniform vec2 u_mouse;
uniform float u_time;

void main() {
	vec2 st = gl_FragCoord.xy/u_resolution;
	gl_FragColor = vec4(st.x,0.0,0.0,1.0);
}

I placed a file named shader.frag in the ‘data’ folder of the sketch (but I don’t understand what purpose it’s used for):

PShader shader;

void setup() {
  size(640, 360, P2D);
  noStroke();

shader = loadShader("shader.frag");
}

void draw() {
  shader.set("u_resolution", float(width), float(height));
  shader.set("u_mouse", float(mouseX), float(mouseY));
  shader.set("u_time", millis() / 1000.0);
  shader(shader);
  rect(0,0,width,height);
}

When running the first mentioned piece of code, there are a bunch of warnings obviously.
I have tried different setups, for example placing the ‘void main()’ method after the ‘void draw()’ method but anyhow, commands like vec2, fragcoord etc are not recognized.

I’m stuck and I would really appreciate some pointers in the right direction. How can I run the example shaders from ‘The Book of Shaders’ in Processing?

Thank you!

1 Like

Hello and welcome @Hieronymus!
The issue is that you’re combining GLSL code with Processing code. The following is GLSL code:

#ifdef GL_ES
precision mediump float;
#endif

uniform vec2 u_mouse;
uniform float u_time;

void main() {
}

This code is stored in a file called shader.frag You can simply open a notepad file, paste in the code there and save it as shader.frag

This is processing code that will use the shader written previously and then run it in processing:

PShader shader;

void setup() {
  size(640, 360, P2D);
  noStroke();

shader = loadShader("shader.frag");
}