Export SVG issues with Processing and p5.js

I’m relatively new to Processing and know enough to be dangerous.

I want to export an SVG. I’ve been reading here and here and trying to import processing.svg.*; in my code but I’m getting nothing. I have the latest version of Processing 3 running on the latest version of Mac OS. I am able to create a sketch but when I try to import processing.svg the sketch stops building.

Does SVG Export work with p5.js?

Is it possible that the zenozeng/p5.js-svg project would help?

Is this the right category to be asking in?

If it would help to see my code, let me know.

Thanks for looking!

1 Like

Some other things I’ve found that might help:

Seems like you’re on the right track–mind sharing one of your sketches that isn’t working?

What is the best way to share the code?

In the meantime, here is a zip of the sketch project directory: https://www.dropbox.com/s/lyuhd6acmlnb8fd/circuits.zip?dl=0

You can add code to your posts using three backtick characters ``` followed by a language name (e.g., javascript) on one line, then adding your code beneath, and finally closing with another thee backticks on their own line. For example,

function setup() {
  createCanvas(400, 400);
}

function draw() {
  background(220);
}

Given you’re working with p5.js and multiple dependencies, consider using the p5 Editor to share your sketches. Here is working-ish version of circuits.

1 Like

Here’s mine: https://editor.p5js.org/plainspace/sketches/aA2Xjyug

Added some comments and links in there.

I still don’t understand why adding import processing.svg.*; breaks things. I also don’t understand what it would do if it did work.

E.g.:

import processing.svg.*;

void setup() {
  size(250, 250);                        // Set up a 250×250 canvas.
  beginRecord(SVG, "svg/output.svg");    // Start recording drawing operations to this file.
  noLoop();                              // Only run draw() once.
}

void draw() {