Existing p5.js code I should learn from?

Hello, I just went through “Getting started with p5.js”, an excellent resource. Although I found it very easy to understand (I have extensive experience programming in other languages, not so much in JS), I’m aware of the fact that I know next to nothing about idioms, tried-and-true ways of doing things, and advanced topics.

Which code would you recommend I understand to improve my knowledge? There’s much out there, but much of that is not an example to follow, having been written by programmers who were young and/or new to programming… and just cared about making it work no matter how.

I’d really appreciate advice from whomever can point me in the direction of codebases I should be going through.

Much obliged,
–bodomo

So, which 1s do you already know?

Maybe this “Ramer–Douglas–Peucker Algorithm” sketch from this topic below which I’ve converted to many versions in different Processing language flavors, including Java Mode, p5js, Python Mode and recently PyScript + p5js:

This is my most recent post there, w/ links to both PyScript & p5js versions:

It’s a long and pointless enumeration, but given that you ask… C, Pascal, Prolog, Standard ML, Scheme, Snap!, Basic, Python, Java (medium fluency, def not a professional developer), and several more for toy projects.

Thanks for suggesting that implementation of Ramer-Douglas-Peucker. I’d seen that alg applied to time series.

In any case, my original post was more about finding a body of code I could go through. For some languages, understanding the sources to their standard library is good practice; for others, there’s some book or writeup with good code, and so on. I don’t know where to find that for p5

Cheers

Hello @bodomo,

P5,js website:
https://p5js.org/

Open the p5.js editor > File > Examples and it will take you to this:
https://editor.p5js.org/p5/sketches

Processing IDE:

Add p5,js mode and peruse the examples:

Happy Coding: