Documenting Generative Projects

Hi,

I am looking for advice for documenting a generative video/sound project. Any thoughts or examples of well documented projects would be very appreciated!

I have a piece that is a part of a group show at a small artist run gallery. The video is being projected; the sound requires headphones; the video and sound are generative and responsive to content coming in through a web cam.

Also, do you include project code as a part of the overall project documentation?

Thanks!

r

2 Likes

It depends from the target audience. When it’s a artist and visual audience, no.
When you expect people to learn a small bit about generative art, include code.
You can imagine 3 concrete persons, Anna, Tom and Tina of different age and provenience and think about them and write for them.

1 Like

thank you.
still wondering tho about visually documenting visual, interactive, sound based work…

I have no experience with this

Whenever possible it is a good idea to make code available as part of project documentation–but this depends on your goals.

Site photos and live video of the installation are very helpful for communicating about a project – including for future installations. Also helpful is an installation diagram depicting the components and their arrangement (headphones, camera, field of view, speakers, projector, surface, computer). If people’s appearance / location / behavior in the space is affecting the webcam, it might be helpful if those clips showed a few representative live interactions with the piece reacting.