Delaying function blocks?

Hi there, I am very very new to processing.

I have created 4 different function blocks. Is there a way to have one function run for 3 seconds, and then switch to the next function for 3 seconds, etc, etc? when I put them all in the draw block, they all overlap so I need some sort of delay between functions.

Thanks so much!!

int cur = int((millis()%12000)/3000);
if(cur == 0) A();
if(cur == 1) B();
if(cur == 2) C();
if(cur == 3) D();
1 Like

Thank you so so much! If I wanted to add a “if key pressed…freeze this function and start new function”, would you happen to know how to do that? each function is just a drawing of shapes. I just want the shape to stay when key pressed, and then start new function where shape can stay when key pressed.

do you mean

while key pressed

or

after key pressed

oops, sorry I meant after I press a key and release it, I want it to keep the drawing on the screen until i stop it!

that is without your timer…
just a ?scene?level?

int screen = 0;

void setup() {
}
void draw() {
  switch (screen) {
  case 0:
    background(255);
// show shape a
    break;
  case 1:
    background(200,200,0);
// show shape b
    break;
  case 2:
    background(0,200,200);
// show shape c
    break;
  case 3:
    background(200,0,200);
// show shape d
    break;
  }
}
void keyPressed() {
  if ( key == '0' ) screen = 0;
  if ( key == '1' ) screen = 1;
  if ( key == '2' ) screen = 2;
  if ( key == '3' ) screen = 3;
}

Hmm, maybe I am describing my issue poorly…I don’t think the above code would work in my case.