Define a startingpoint from a .png file in processing

Hi!

Im have a .png file with a black graph on it. (just a single black line on a complete white background)

I would like to define two starting points from stroke-functions amongst this line. one stroke function which will move upwards, and one who will move downwards.

As im new to processing, i have no idea on which function to use. I have used about an hour to load the image in to processing.

If someone could point me to which function i should use, or have some youtube videos they could recommend it would be awesome!

Thanks

hi! welcome to the forum :wave:

I’m afraid I don’t quite get what you want to achieve… maybe you can share the png file that you mention, and additionally make a drawing/sketch of what you want to accomplish with code…?

1 Like

@sigbjorn

Are you trying to create a graph with both positive and negative values?

Hi!

My thought is to divide the “picture” into two parts. I want to create an alternative x-axis, which is defined by the following graph:

Im trying to create a new x-axis which is defined by the following graph:

I have yet to implement the graph in processing, only the picture of it.

(Im a total noob)

I don’t understand how that will change the x-axis; the image shows changes in the y-values. The x-axis values appear to be unchanged in what you have shown. Each one of the x-axis values has a corresponding y-value which is variable. You could then plot new y-values (+/-) based on your pre-defined curve.

Ok, I see my formulation could be better.

I would like to establish an alternativ x-axis which could be used as a starting point for other functions.

Here is an example.

Lets say the graps is a straight line in the midle of the screen - when i type in a line function, i would like the line to start in the middle of the screen according to where the graph is. Does that make sense?