Creating SVG limited to canvas size

I am just learning Processing to make files for the Axidraw. I have figured out my best workflow in terms of saving SVGs but just hit a snag. I am using simplified code for this example here using one line (but in the files I have problems with it is hundreds of lines), but basically if I tell the program to draw a line (or ellipse or whatever) that has coordinates outside of the designated canvas size (any negative x- or y-value), it still draws and exports all that is outside.

This is an example. If I save this SVG by pressing “e” and open it in Inkscape, I get the bounding box with an intersecting line that starts at (-50,0). Is there an easy way to have Processing save only what is inside of the canvas?

import processing.svg.*;
import java.util.*;
boolean bExportSVG = false;

void setup() {
  size(400, 400);
}

void draw () {
  background(255);

if (bExportSVG) {
    beginRecord(SVG, "drawing.svg");
  }
  size(400, 400);
  rect(0, 0, width, height);
  line(-50, 0, 100, 100);
  if (bExportSVG)
  {
    endRecord();
    bExportSVG = false;
  }
}

void keyPressed()
{
  if (key == 'e')
  {
    bExportSVG = true;
  }
}

This is what I see on my system when the saved image is opened in a Chrome browser. Is this not what you would expect to see?

In Chrome, it may display like this.

However, in Inkscape (or I imagine if I opened in Illustrator) it looks like this (attaching the screenshot). Problem is Axidraw will plot the whole line unless of course I put it off the actual page but I like to keep stuff centered:

Processing did what you asked it to do; ie line has a negative value for x1. The only solution I can think of is to constrain the value of x1 to a positive value. That might require creating a Line class, then constrain line.x1 to min >0. https://processing.org/examples/constrain.html

I am super new to this. Classes are really hard for me to understand still.