CPU Optimization - Mobile & Servers: Loading Times

Hello Forum,

I am working on a series of audio visual projects that I want people to access from a variety of mobile devices. I really love using the p5js Open Processing website in full screen mode (because it is ready to go and I am a novice at best)! My projects take about 5 seconds to load on my phone. My assumption is that loading time will vary depending on the user’s phone?

Or, is it the server that hosts the sketches that slows loading?

Both?

What can I do to optimize my load times for mobile devices in addition to optimizing my code? Is Open Processing as fast as it gets? Or, is there another cloud server that I could get my sketches hosted on that would be lightening? :slight_smile:

Thanks for your help and ideas!

Margaret

From my experience with Open Processing; What mostly determinate loading and run speed is the processor capacity of the mobile. The difference can really be big. For example in this sketch I had to put a “loading screen” for slow devices, otherwise it would start messed up. On my daughters new iphone it runs really fast.

1 Like

Hi Noel,

Thanks for sharing - what a fun sketch! So, I think what I am wondering about is the white screen between clicking the link and getting to a loading screen like yours. When I loaded your sketch with my Mac Laptop 2015, I still had to wait about 5 seconds before your loading screen showed up. Is that period between clicking and getting to your loading a screen controlled by my device or the hosting server?

2 Likes

In the code. The nice thing with Open Processing is that you can modify the code and test it on the fly. Just give it a try.

1 Like

Hi Noel :slight_smile:

So what you are saying is that if the code is optimized there should be no lag time in loading?