Coding a P2P sharing app

Hi guys,

I’m trying to buid a p2p app for sharing files over an intranet.

I’m a teacher and I want a quick way to deploy files over my classroom.
I have think about a drag and drop admin interface which will deploy files to all the listening clients over the network.

Have you experienced with processing and p2p? is there any library?
Thanks in advance

This smells like something that shouldn’t be implemented using Processing.

It sounds like you’re going to need a server, maybe a database, and some clients with a relatively complicated user interface. While you can do this stuff in Processing, it’s not exactly trivial.

If I were you, I’d think about low-tech solutions first. Would a simple networked drive solve your problems?

If not, then I’d start thinking about the various technologies you’re going to need. Do you need a database? Do you need a server? Lastly, what should your clients look like? Notice that the clients come last: if you’re already thinking about “nice to have” features like drag-and-drop, then you’re probably thinking about things in the wrong order.

Shameless self-promotion: here is a guide that talks about building a non-trivial application that requires a server. It’s geared towards app development, but a lot of the advice in it applies to what you’re talking about.

1 Like

Indeed I don’t want a complicated interface, nor even a database.
A drag & drop window for the “server” (you can have that with sDrop) and a file list for the clients with some scrolling bars. Really clean and simple.

I just want to know if someone has experimented with any p2p library and processing.
I know there are few of them in java.

If you are in a Windows network, you can setup one of the windows services to share files.

You could also setup an FTP server where each client connects and fetches the files. You would need just few commands.