Cannot read property of split() undefined

Hello, I am quite new to p5js (on and off for the past few months) but as of recently, I have run into a problem that myself nor my peers or teacher can solve. We are working on an application that is like a word per minute game and we are using split() to separate user input which is normally a string and trying to store each word into an array. We solved the problem by copying the code into a new p5js file and that worked for a week until the error came back. We have no clue what do any help is appreciated. Please note that I had to delete a lot of the getUserFunctions because there was over 100000 characters in the code, but it is the same idea. Any help is appreciated.

var drawButton
var drawButton2;
var drawButton3;

var drawButton4;
var drawButton5;
var drawButton6;
var drawButton7;
var drawButton8;
var drawButton9;

var drawButton10;
var drawButton11;
var drawButton12;
var drawButton13;
// var drawButton14;
// var drawButton15;

// var drawButton16;
// var drawButton17;
// var drawButton18;
// var drawButton19;
// var drawButton20;
// var drawButton21;

// var drawButton22;
// var drawButton23;
// var drawButton24;
// var drawButton25;
// var drawButton26;
// var drawButton27;

// var drawButton28;
// var drawButton29;
// var drawButton30;
// var drawButton31;
// var drawButton32;
// var drawButton33;

// var drawButton34;
// var drawButton35;
// var drawButton36;
// var drawButton37;
// var drawButton38;
// var drawButton39;

// var drawButton40;
// var drawButton41;
// var drawButton42;
// var drawButton43;
// var drawButton44;
// var drawButton45;

// var drawButton46;
// var drawButton47;
// var drawButton48;
// var drawButton49;
// var drawButton50;

var beginButton;

var btnCount;

var output;

var input; 
var runCount = 0;

var correctScore = 0;
var checkingArrayNum = 0;
var incorrectScore = 0;

var sentencesPressedCount = 0;

var counter = 0;
var timeLeft = 60;

var forest;
var forest2;
var forest3;