Buffering videos fully before playing them

Hello!

I’m relatively new to JS and P5 with limited coding background, and I’m learning as I go. This is my first post here.

I’m building a website that needs to stream several videos simultaneously for a music/video project.

I’m using createVideo(), but it leads to some of the videos freezing while others continue, especially on slower internet connections. I am guessing that this is because the browser controls how much to buffer and play.

An engineer friend suggested trying to have all the videos buffer fully before playing them, so that they run concurrently without interruption. Is there a way to do this with JS?

The videos are small (300px width) and compressed, I am ok with waiting for them to fully buffer (or download?) before playing.

Here is how I’m doing it now, pretty straight forward:

let howManyVids = 8;
let videos = [];
let start = false;

function setup() {
    let cnv = createCanvas(windowWidth, windowHeight);
    cnv.style('display', 'block');
    background(255);
    frameRate(25);

// something to click to avoid browser blocking autoplay:

go = createP();  
    go.style('font-size', width/40);
    go.style('font-family', "Bahnschrift", "bold");
    go.position(width*0.1,height*0.1);
    go.html("click to start");
    go.mouseClicked(startDraw);

// loading videos, for some reason this works here but doesn't in preload

for (let i=0; i<howManyVids; i++) {
        videos[i] = createVideo("assets/"+i+".mp4");
        videos[i].hide();
    }  
}

function startDraw() {
    for (let i=0; i<videos.length; i++) {
        videos[i].play();
    }
    go.hide();
    start = true;
}

function draw() {
    if (start) {
        background(255);
        for (let i = 0; i< videos.length; i++ ) {
            image(videos[i], random(width*0.6), random (height*0.6)); //random positions for the purpose of this post 
        }
    }
}

Thank you!!

Hello and welcome to the forum! :tada: