Array question in JS

I’m building a p5 library and I’m new to JavaScript. I’m confused by the JavaScript closure and array system. I don’t understand why I get undefined object “field” in for loops.

Ps: I’m using the math.js eval to translate String to function.

Here is my code

p5.prototype.vectorField = function (fx,fy,size){

let field = new Array();

// this is correct.
    console.log(Array.isArray(field));

if( typeof fx == "string" ){
        for(let i = 0; i < size; i++){
            let scopex = {x:i};
            let x = math.eval(fx,scopex);
            for(let j = 0; j<size; j++){
                let scopey = {y:j};
                let index = i+(j*size);
                let y = math.eval(fy,scopey);

// but I get error here!
                if (!(index in field)){

// and here!
                 field.push([]);
                }
                field[index].push(p5.Vector(x,y,0));
            }
        }
    }

console.log(field);
    return field;
};

And it throws error like this : “Object doesn’t support property or method ‘push’”

I don’t think you have to reassign field; it should only be:

field.push([]);
1 Like

Yes you’re right. but it still gives the same error.

Can I ask you to specify which error? You have two.

If it was the first error, I think you’re misusing the in operator. Looking at the docs here, it seems that it only applies to dictionaries (although if you’re coming from Python I understand the confusion). However, this is the first time I’ve ever heard of the in operator, so correct me if I’m wrong.

I don’t think it’s the in operator causes this. It works as an array length tester(there is an example it in the doc) Also I tried to delete the " if( … to … )" line then the push() error just pop up.

I noticed the variable"field" just lost its Array property after two iterations disregarding if it is empty or not.