Arduino Nano33 BLE Sense Serial Port Locked by Processing

Hello,

I’m a self-certified newbie. I was working on the example at https://blog.arduino.cc/2020/06/24/machine-vision-with-low-cost-camera-modules/. Unfortunately, Camera Pattern was not displayed by Processing. I closed Arduino IDE (and Processing window was dismissed thereafter). I rechecked the pin connections and did not discover anything incorrect.

Now when I launch Arduino IDE, Processing is launched too without any manual operation. To make matters worse, Arduino can no longer upload code via /dev/ttyACM0 - the only active serial port on the desktop seems to be permanently enjoined to Processing. Dismissing Processing window, closes Arduino IDE.

How can I stop Processing from being launched (and locking up the serial port) whenever I want to work on Arduino IDE? Thanks for any suggestion.

Kind regards.

What OS are you using? My first suggestion is to restart the system. Simple but if it works, it is a good start. Another suggestion is to check the running tasks in the background (On Windows use the task manager, on Linux ps -ef could do the trick) and see if you identify a processing task (very likely it will be named something like Java Platform Binary SE if you don’t see the name of the sketch.

I also recommend to use a simpler example if possible when starting. For example, echoing commands that you send to your arduino. In other words, you send a byte to your arduino and your unit send it back and you catch it with your same code. This is always a good start and it helps in troubleshooting. Finally, I suggest you explore related issue via Google by tagging searches with :processing.org which increases your chances to explore previous posts in this and previous forum versions.

Kf

@kfrajer,

Thanks for your reply. At the risk of sounding impolite (you were kind enough to field the question), your reply implies that you have not encountered the issue previously.