Animating simple motion of line with clean fade not overwriting with background(0)

I am a newbie learning nested loops, for, while, if, else, etc.
My intention is to create a series of horizontal white lines that are animated moving downwards. The number and distance should be variables I can later output to other programs.

But am completely stuck regarding nested loops (while, for, etc). The clear background technique to make most of the examples work seems like a shortcut, but regardless I can’t get anything to work.

Basically these lines should be moving down on repeat:

I’ve tried tons of different things, using these tutorials https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LaarVR1AOvs, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H7frvcAHXps&t=28s

Basically I want to do a while loop to make the series of lines and then a for loop to rewrite them so it looks like they are moving downwards. It’s important I can output global variables when I am down to use in programs like VDMX with OSC output.

Here’s my code (one of many):

float ii;

void setup() {
  background(0);
  size(500, 500);
  stroke(255);
  strokeWeight(1);
}

void draw() {
  for (int i = 0; i < height; i=i+10) {
//       background (20);
//    for (int ii=0; ii < 10; ii++) {
      line (0, i+ii, width, i+ii);
    }
//  }
}

1 Like

It is not a shortcut, this is how almost every animation works.

You start by cleaning everything you have on your screen at the begining of draw() with

background(color);

Then you update the position of your objects.
Then you draw your objects (at their new position).

I remember there was a thread quite similar to what you are asking. I’ll have a look and paste it here.

Edit:
This is the thread: Draw lines that go from bottom to top? - #4 by jb4x

1 Like

You’re really close, you just need a few tweaks. :slight_smile: