A general question from a code novice

hey all, this is not specifically a processing question, but I have found folks here to be very helpful in the past so would like to see if anyone can help me out…

I’m wondering where would be a good place to ask total newbie questions about programming related subjects in general?

I’m talking really dumb stuff like - what language am I looking at? Is there a way to write code to do x,y or z? What software do I need to edit this code?.. stuff like that.

The folks at stackexchange don’t seem to take kindly to this sort of thing… and I know stackoverflow is a bit more “open” but still it seems like I’m already supposed to present some code and ask for help with it rather than be coming from a total novice standpoint.

Maybe I’m just best off posting on quora? Other than that, I’m a bit stuck knowing where to turn!

Many thanks for any suggestions, :slight_smile:

3 Likes

That is a very interesting question, as are the others you have asked in this post, including the question about where to ask such questions. One such venue, for starters, might be one where creative people gather - one that attracts people with a wide variety of interests - hmmm - perhaps this one.

Quora, as you have suggested, would also be a fine place to go, especially because some of the replies might lead you to other sites that specialize in the particular topic of interest.