Why can I not draw in the serialEvent() function?

When I put the text("Bla", 30,30) in the loop, it works, i.e. it prints “Bla” on my Canvas.

void Draw() {
 text("Bla", 30,30); 
}

But when I but the same code into the serialEvent() function and trigger it by receiving serial data, it doesn’t work, i.e. it draws nothing on my canvas.

void serialEvent(Serial mySerial) { 
  value = mySerial.readStringUntil('\n');
         if ( value != null ) {
              textSize(20);
              fill(120);
              text("Bla", 30,30); 
              println("Bla");            
         }
} 

To make sure that the if clause is properly triggered, I added println("Bla"); and, indeed, I get a “Bla” in the console for every data package I receive. But nothing on the canvas.

How is this possible? :weary:

And, no, my background is not set to the same colour as the text.

1 Like
  • serialEvent() is called back by the Serial’s internal Thread.
  • However we can’t mutate anything on the canvas outside Processing’s own “Animation” Thread.
  • Instead just have some global boolean “flag” variable to indicate it’s time to draw().
1 Like

Why does it work in these examples shown in the video below? Note that the Draw() loop in both examples are completely empty.

Could you explain what you mean by that? Or how to implement it?

B/c older versions were less restricted. At least when using the default JAVA2D renderer.

Even back then, drawing outside the “Animation” Thread could display some glitches.

// ...

boolean flag;

// ...

void draw() {
  // ...

if (flag) {
    flag = false;

// ...
  }

// ...
}

// ...

void serialEvent(final Serial s) {
    // ...

flag = true;
}

// ...
1 Like

Alternatively, if you just need to refresh the canvas when new data arrives, you can use the noLoop() / redraw() technique: :bulb:

2 Likes