Where or how to learn trigonometry for processing?

Hello all! where can i learn trigonometry for processing? or can somebody teach me? my teacher taught it in class and i still don’t understand it, i even watched a bunch of youtube videos and i still don’t understand the concept. i’m at the point where if i don’t learn it i could fail my class because it is used a lot in my class, and my teacher is of no help. Thanks in advance.

Trigonometry is a pretty broad subject. I studied it for a whole year back in school!

That said, the basics.

Imagine a 2D plane. There’s an X axis going to the right, and a Y axis going up.
Where they meet is the origin, AKA (0,0).

Imagine an arrow that is on the X axis. The tail of the arrow is at the origin. The arrow is 1 unit long. The head of the arrow is at the point (1,0).

Now spin the arrow around the origin. The head of the arrow draws out a circle, right?

Imagine that circle. Its center is the origin. The radius of it is 1. Its diameter is 2. What’s its circumference??

That’s right, TWO_PI. Since PI = C / D, it follows that C = D * PI. And as I just said, D = 2, and 2 times PI is TWO_PI.

Now image that circle is a pizza. You know what a pizza is, right? This pizza is cut into 8 equal pieces. Picture just one slice that sits on the X axis. That slice has a burnt edge on the X axis. The other edge is cheesy. It also has some crust. How long is the crust of the slice? Well, it’s 1/8th of the whole circumference, so it has a length of PI / 4.

Okay. Now here’s the real kicker. I don’t want the crust on my pizza. So I’m going to cut it off. But my cut has to be very exact. I want to cut along a line that is parallel to the Y axis, cuts off all of the crust, and as little pizza as possible. Make sure the cut is EXACTLY VERTICAL! Make sure it cuts off ALL the crust!

Can you picture it? OKAY! Now look at this diagram.

Got it? Do you see all these parts?

3 Likes