What is the code to generate a random and automatic color in the background?

Hello, I’m new to processing, and I would like to know if anyone can help me solve a question about how I change my background with random colors. That is, every time I clicked on play and became active, the color would change randomly and automatically.
Thank you

Hi! Welcome to the forum!

Is this a homework assignment? If so please add a tag to the topic. Or are you self learning? Either way, it’s better if you try something, post the code and we give you feedback. Do you have any idea where to begin with?

Yes it is a school exercise. Oh ok sorry, it was the first time I asked a question here. Yes, I already have this, I don’t know if it’s right or not, I’m still very amateur in this:

float r;
float g;
float b;
float a;
float diam;
float x;
float y;

void setup() {
size(2000,2000);
background(0);
smooth();
}

void draw() {
r = random(255);
g = random(255);
b = random(255);
a = random(255);
diam = random(20);
x = random(width);
y = random(height);
}

1 Like

Wow that’s a big screen. I mostly go for 1200, 800

background

use background(r,g,b); in draw()

problem: color changes throughout

you could make a function after the last } :

void mousePressed() {
r = random(255);
g = random(255);
b = random(255);
}
1 Like

Hello,

Please format your code:
https://discourse.processing.org/faq#format-your-code

There are lot of resources (tutorials, references, examples, etc.) here:
processing.org

You want a random number between 0 and 255 ( this is the default colorMode() )

random(256);
will give you a random float between 0 and 256 but not including 256.
You can also convert that to an int.

This is explained in the references.

Some references:

You can slow things down also with frameRate() if you want to get a sense of what your code is doing each cycle of draw().

Suggesting reading:

:)

2 Likes

Okay, thank you very much for your help. I will try!

1 Like