Whack-A-Mole Game

Hello there!

I am a somewhat beginner in Processing. So far, all I’ve learned is for and while loops, simple animation, if and if else statements, drawing primitives, and some other related things along with relative basics.

I want to code a “whack-a-mole” game, with six holes where moles can appear. I created the visual aspect of it, but I don’t know how I can randomize moles appearing in the specific locations I want them to appear in (the six holes) and how I can keep them there for a specified period of time. I know how I can count and record how many times the player has hit a mole, but I don’t know how to make actual moles appear and disappear in specific locations and stay there for a few seconds!

This is probably a very dumb question with a simple answer, but any help would be appreciated. Thank you!

1 Like

There is a method called random.

float random_number=random(lowest_value,highest_value);

The number will always been in between them. So if you add a cast to int it will never have the highest value.

2 Likes

That’s great! I was thinking of using random, though I don’t want my “moles” to appear in random locations on the canvas, I want them to randomly appear in one of 6 preset locations. What should I do if I wanted to do that?

1 Like

Use something like

if(random_number==0){x=…;y=…;}
if(random_number==1){x=…;y=…;}

or if you are familiar you could use switch-case expressions.
If you aren’t it looks like this:

switch(random_number){
case 1:
//do stuff
break;
case 2:
//do stuff
break;
default:
//do anything that  doesn't meet any of this conditions.
break;
}
2 Likes

Thank you! That’s very helpful, I implemented it into my code and it works.
Although, now I just need to figure out how to make the “moles” disappear after a certain period of time and to make sure each one appearing happens right after the last one disappears!

Would anyone be able to help?

1 Like