Vertical Pixel Sorting on image

Hi. I’m new to Processing. Hope someone is able to help me.

I have two answer:

1. In my sketch the pixel sorting work on width, but I I need it to be vertical non horizontal … how?
  2. The pixel sorting start and finishing alone, how can I adjust these parameters to my liking?

Thank u.

This is the code:

int mode = 0;

int threshold;

PImage img;

String fileType = "jpg";

void setup() {

img = loadImage("Tree.jpg");
  size(1200, 675);
  image(img, width, height);
  frameRate(60);

}

void draw() {
  img.loadPixels();

for (int k=height; k<height*width; k++) {
    if (threshold < 150000) {
      if (brightness(img.pixels[k]) > threshold) {
        img.pixels[k] = color(
        int(red(img.pixels[height])),
        int(green(img.pixels[height])),
        int(blue(img.pixels[height])));
      }

else {
        img.pixels[height] = color(
        int(red(img.pixels[k-1])),
        int(green(img.pixels[k-1])),
        int(blue(img.pixels[k-1])));
      }
      threshold = threshold+10;
    }

else {
      threshold = 0;
    }
  }

img.updatePixels();
  image(img, 0, 0); 
}
1 Like

One method is to rotate the image 90 degrees, sort its rows horizontally, then rotate the image back again.

One method is to loop over columns and march down, increasing the pixels[] index by width each time (that moves to the pixel below it).

You may not want to do your sort operation every single frame of draw. Perhaps once in setup, and / or on a keypress?

1 Like

I do not know how to do it …

This is the result for now. But pixel sorting is horizontal. I don’t understand to rotate the pixel sorting vertical with my code.

1 Like

Your current code is not sorting pixels horizontally. It loops over every pixel horizontally and, if it passes a brightness check, copies the previous value into it. This creates streaks.