Trying to replicate a creation - stuck with laying out PVectors along a curve

Hello,

I am fairly new to Processing and coding in general. I have been trying to replicate a creation I found on the homepage of a studio called Yes. See www.yes.studio

I have got quite close, managing to create a number of sketches which, separately, kind of produce the required functionality. I am however struggling to put it all together.

My main stumbling block at the moment is arranging PVectors out in the required pattern - I’m also not sure exactly what the required layout is. I don’t think its concentric rings of points/ellipses. Almost looks like a spiral galaxy formation.

I have got a sketch working that does achieves the 3D rotation and shrinks the ellipses when the mouse is close (although this isn’t 100% correct).

Anyway, here is my code, I would really appreciate any suggestions towards how I might get closer to my goal.

The main sketch:

float angleX = 0;
float angleY = 0;
float angleZ = 0;

PVector[] points = new PVector[8];

void setup() {

size(600, 600);

points[0] = new PVector(-0.5, -0.5, 0);
  points[1] = new PVector(0.5, -0.5, 0);
  points[2] = new PVector(0.5, 0.5, 0);
  points[3] = new PVector(-0.5, 0.5, 0);
  points[4] = new PVector(-1, -1, 0);
  points[5] = new PVector(1, -1, 0);
  points[6] = new PVector(1, 1, 0);
  points[7] = new PVector(-1, 1, 0);
}

void draw() {

background(0);
  translate(width/2, height/2);
  noStroke();
  fill(0, 255, 0);

// Rotation matricies

float[][] rotationZ = {
    { cos(angleZ), -sin(angleZ), 0}, 
    { sin(angleZ), cos(angleZ), 0}, 
    { 0, 0, 1}
  };

float[][] rotationX = {
    { 1, 0, 0}, 
    { 0, cos(angleX), -sin(angleX)}, 
    { 0, sin(angleX), cos(angleX)}
  };

float[][] rotationY = {
    { cos(angleY), 0, sin(angleY)}, 
    { 0, 1, 0}, 
    { -sin(angleY), 0, cos(angleY)}
  };

for (PVector v : points) {

//Compound rotation about the X and Y axis

PVector rotated = matmul(rotationY, (matmul(rotationX, v)));