Trying to make a little app that saves all the characters that i type

Hey guys, howre you?

I wanted to create something that can save all the characters that i type on my computer. I think is not that difficult, but i am kind of new with all this, so i dont know how to do it. Anyone that has an idea can help me? Thanks a lot.

1 Like
String txt = "";
void setup() {
  size(600,600);
  textAlign(3,3);
  textSize(20);
}
void draw() {
  background(0);
  text(txt,width/2,height/2);
}
void keyPressed() { txt += key; }

it is an unfiltered version. I will reply with the filtered (it won’t show the weird characters) in a few minutes

1 Like

here is a program that only allows characters in the char acceptable[] = ("here").toCharArray();

char acceptable[] = ("aAbBcCdDeEfFgGhHiIjJkKlLmMnNoOpPqQrRsStTuUvVwWxXyYzZ ").toCharArray();
String txt = "";
void setup() {
  size(600, 600);
  textAlign(3, 3);
  textSize(20);
}
void draw() {
  background(0);
  text(txt, width/2, height/2);
}
void keyPressed() { 
  for (int i = 0; i < acceptable.length; i++) if (key == acceptable[i]) txt += key;
  if (keyCode == BACKSPACE) txt = removeLast(txt);
}
String removeLast(String input) {
  String output = "";
  for (int i = 0; i < input.length()-1; i++) {
    output += input.charAt(i);
  }
  return output;
}

others are ignored.

2 Likes

This is great, i will try it now. Thank you so much!

2 Likes

glad to help : P

have a nice day!

1 Like

is it actually saved?

no, i couldnt save it, but its a good start

1 Like

You can always create a .txt file with the text

1 Like

Look at saveStrings for that

2 Likes

great! thanks. And… is it possible to do that the app continue working while im for example at google? so it can save all the things i type

1 Like

it is possible, however, you would need java libraries for that. (I don’t know how to use them btw).