Struggling to implement a pause/delay within my for-loop

Beginner here.

I am developing a program that involves drawing a grid of cells, in a row-by-row fashion. I want the program to draw a row of cells, then pause for a short time (say 1 second) before moving down and drawing the next row, then pause, then the next row, and so on…

For the sake of clarity I have written this simple program to test this method. When I run this code it seems to pause at the very start before doing anything, then it draws all of my rows seemingly instantly. This is not what I want, I need a pause before each row is drawn.

My reasoning behind this code is as follows:

My program comes to my nested for-loop, it enters the “row” loop and waits until frameCount is at a multiple of 60 before entering the “cell” loop, at this point it draws a row of cells almost instantly, then exits the “cell” loop and waits again, then enters and so on until all rows have been drawn.

So it really baffles me why this code isn’t working. I have been messing around with this for well over an hour now and it’s reall frustrating. I have tried similar methods involving millis() and delay() but they are problematic too.

I would be really greatful if someone could give me some pointers here! Thank you

void setup(){
  size(800,800);
  background(0);
  frameRate(60);
}

void draw(){

int delay = 60;

int cellSize = 20;
  int cellNum = width/cellSize;
  int rowNum = height/cellSize;

for(int row = 0; row < rowNum; row++){                              // "row" loop
    if(frameCount % delay == 0){                                      // My delay should occur here
      for(int cell = 0; cell < cellNum; cell++){                      // "cell" loop
        rect(cell * cellSize, row * cellSize, cellSize, cellSize);
      }
    }
  }
}

Sad news: draw() doesn’t update the screen throughout but only once at its end

Hence you cannot see any animation when you use for

Better get rid of the for loop