Should I learn Processing with Python

Hey! I’m fairly new to Processing, and have never used Java before. I’m working through Casey Reas and Ben Fry’s “Processing” book and Daniel Shiffman’s “The Nature of Code” and am having no problems learning the software. However I hear a lot of talk about Python such as, its fast for a high level language (faster than Processing?), that its very popular and easy to learn. Should I learn Processing with Python?
Thanks for any suggestions

just one argument ( one viewpoint ):

if ( ( have Raspberry Pi ) && ( want learn Linux) ) { Python = true; } else { hmm. ; }

If you are fairly new to programming (and it seems like you are), you can just stick with Processing & Java for now. What is important to learn are the concepts of programming, not the specific syntax of a language. If you know some basic data types, how to do loops, functions, and then objects and arrays, knowledge of those concepts will translate easily between languages.

2 Likes

Given the programming language used in that book is Java, pretty much you need to go along w/ it.

As @TfGuy44 had already mentioned, in the beginning the focus is about learning programming concepts.

We can always choose another language after the basics are learnt.

2 Likes

Thanks. The first programming language I learned was Fortran77, then C++, but this was about 100 years ago, so in other words, I’m not new to programming but not having sat down at a computer for so long I’ve forgotten everything (plus everything’s changed now). I don’t have Raspberry Pi and probably won’t anytime soon. So as far learning Processing goes it seemed I could use either language, but I’m not sure if in the long term one would be better to use than the other.
thanks in advance for advice!

1 Like