setVolume: rampTime and timeFromNow Mystery?

Hi there I am a veteran audio engineer and novice programmer, it is humbling to understand audio so well and yet be so mystified by coding it…

Anyway I was just playing around with the setVolume function and to my chagrin was getting very unexpected results when using the optional parameters.

My assumption: [rampTime] smooths between the previous volume and the new volume. This did not happen.

Assumption 2: [timeFromNow] delays said smoothing for a certain time ie begin fading out after 1 second. This did not happen either.

I created a little example showing some of the results I was getting and printed volume to the console to confirm my results. I would really like to better understand why this is happening, and how to use these parameters to get the results I was expecting,

let sound;

var fadeType = 1;

function preload() {
    sound = loadSound("Sounds/sound1.wav");       
}

function setup() {
    createCanvas(200, 200);
}

function draw() {
    clear();
    print(sound.getVolume());
}

function mousePressed() {

switch(fadeType){
        case 0:
            //Nothing happens at all... this should fade in?
            sound.setVolume(0);
            sound.setVolume(1, 0.3);
            sound.play();
            break;

case 1:
            //Sound fades in over 0.3 seconds, behaves as rampTime should?
            //Also gets very wacky when sound triggered multiple times close together
            sound.setVolume(0);
            sound.setVolume(1, 0, 0.3);
            sound.play();
            break;

case 2:
            //First time sound is played it gets cut off after 0.3 sec
            //every time after that it fades nicely out over 0.3 sec?!
            sound.setVolume(1);
            sound.setVolume(0, 0, 0.3);
            sound.play();
            break;

case 3:
            //Sound fades out over .3 sec, vol stays at 0 and cant be re-triggered?
            sound.setVolume(1);