Recursive Tree & Conversion into 3D Space?

I’m studying the code below (written by S. Calderon) and we’ve been asked to turn the generated image from 2D to 3D. The code itself is quite complex and as a beginner, I’d appreciate any hints on how I can go about this task??? Any tips on how I get started with this assignment would really be appreciated.

/*
Task: Explore objects and classes by experimenting with object-based graphics that
allow for different instances of the same object within the script.  Next, try to translate 
the geometry into 3-dimensional space.
*/

//VARIABLES
int branchMax = 3; 
int extentMax = 5;

//SETUP 
void setup() 
{
  size(800, 400); 
  smooth();
  noLoop();  
  strokeWeight(1);  
}

//DRAW
void draw() 
{
 background(255);
 Vector node = new Vector(width/2, height, random(20,50), 270);
 fractalise(node, extentMax); 
}

void mousePressed()
{    
    draw();
}

void fractalise(Vector v, int extent) //the recursive function for tree growth
{
if(extent <= 0 ) //exit condition is when number of extensions less than or equal to zero
{ 
  return; 
} 
 extent--; //decrements value of the integer variable by one

v.Render(); 
 for(int i=0; i<branchMax;i++)
 {
  Vector vGrowth = new Vector(v.getEndPointX(), v.getEndPointY(), //creates new vector
                             random(50,100), random(180, 360));  //angle of growth is random within set parameters

vGrowth.Render(); //renderise and fractalise recursive                         
  fractalise(vGrowth, extent); 
 }
}

class Vector //name of class declared
{
 float x, y, r, theta; //co-ordinates for the class Vector
 float EndX, EndY; //breadth of the class Vector

Vector (float _x, float _y, float _r, float _theta) 
 {
  this.x = _x;
  this.y = _y;
  this.r = _r;
  this.theta = radians(_theta);

EndX = getEndPointX();
  EndY = getEndPointY();
 }

float getEndPointX() {
  return (x + r*cos(theta));  //returns x-coordinate in polar form
 }

float getEndPointY() {