Rect using wrong texture when using shader

I’m using a chroma shader (to do some green screen video) but I want to use it twice
so I have

chroma.set("u_tex",cam);
  rect(49,0,560,480);
  chroma.set("u_tex",countDown);
  //rect(600,0,560,480);

(I commented out the second rect, because it isn’t part of the problem)
The problem is that the first rect is drawn using the second chroma.set(). If I comment the second one out, it draws just fine. It is almost as if drawing of the rectangle is done after the second chroma.set() is executed. How do I work around this??

1 Like

If I’m understanding the issue correctly, have you tried using pushStyle() and popStyle()?

:nerd_face:

I’m pretty new to processing, so I don’t know all the functions. I just read the reference guide and it seems that it only pushes styles like color, line width etc, but not the shader.
Anyway I tried it by adding a pushStyle() just before the second choma.set and that didn’t work.
I also tried a pushStyle() and popStyle() around the first chroma.set and the first rec, but that too didn’t work.

Try placing pushStyle before the second chroma.set and
The popStyle after the second rect.
Basically your pushing and popping around the second instance of the chroma and rect.

yes, that’s what I tried. it didn’t work.

Like this?

chroma.set("u_tex",cam);
rect(49,0,560,480);

pushStyle();  
rect(600,0,560,480);
popStyle();

Or, try using dot syntax:

chroma.set("u_tex",cam);
rect(49,0,560,480);

chroma.pushStyle();  
rect(600,0,560,480);
chroma.popStyle();

kind of solved it (not really, but it does what I want it to do) before the second choma.set(), I added a second shader(chroma);

exactly like that (without the dot syntax).