Reading byte array into float (expanding on SerialCallResponse example)

An old C programmer, I’m new to Processing (and not particularly skilled at C++, come to that…), so naturally I’m banging up against the stronger type discipline of Object Oriented languages, and could use a spot of help…
I’m writing code based on the Arduino/Processing example pair “SerialCallResponse”, which transfers bytes on request.
Instead of simple bytes/integers, want to transfer floats in my data. Sending them from Arduino is simple (a simple union of 4 bytes and a float was all I needed to feed Serial.write()), but how to I read four bytes from Processing’s receive buffer into a float?

1 Like
1 Like

Excellent, thank you.

In a related question - and please forgive my ignorance of what probably appears basic…
In C I could pass a pointer to an integer (i.e. a primitive, not an object) to a function and have that function increment it (fairly obviously I’m talking about an array index). As Java doesn’t work that way (as well described here
http://www.javadude.com/articles/passbyvalue.htm
how would I achieve the same functionalilty?

1 Like

Either you return the value and assign it to the variable you wanna mutate or… use an object, which can be freely mutated.

For the latter, you can for example pass an int[] array instead of a vanilla int.

P.S.: Almost forgot: Declare a global field, so it can be reassigned everywhere! :globe_with_meridians:

1 Like

Ah, so simply making it an array - even if it’s a single element array - promotes it from primitive to object class, so that the “pass by reference” opportunity exists; I get it :slight_smile:
Global - got that too.
Thanks again:-)

OK, so I seem to have misunderstood the concept of marking a post as a solution. GoToLoop provided my solution, I didn’t.

yes, you can change that by click on the correct post.

1 Like

Just to clarify, you are still passing a value – the value is a pointer to an array (or an Object).