Read I2C data from Arduino slave

I am new to Raspberry PI, more used to the Arduino and have done a little coding in Processing, and really like the concept of Processing. It’s a great combination, Processing and Arduino. Needed the Power and Speed of PI. The PI seems to be a big mess of diffrent Python 2 and 3, scripts and different kernels and config files etc. etc., but nice when its working.I have used Arduinos as Master and Slave in different combinations before in various projects. Because I feel for continue to work with processing instead of learning Python 2 or Python 3. I have started a robot project with Raspberry Pi running processing as the Master and two Arduinos as slaves. One Arduino drives two motors and it´s working great. The other Arduino should have been the link between a Garmin Lidar Lite V3 in PWM mode and the PI. Lidar Lite V3 works with I2C but not with the PI because of some Kernel update, and some patch not working on the latest PI3B+ but on older PI:s (some PI frustration here).

For the last two weeks I have tried to read data from the Arduino from processing running on the PI. I have tried a lot of different code both on the Arduinos and the PI.

I have started to think there are som issue with the read function in the I2C library or a combination with the “forced repeated start” kernel on the PI and the Arduino emulation of an I2C device. Or maybe processing on the latest PI3B+? The Arduino standard code are based on a Request Event. Does the processing Read() really Request data on I2C data line? or does it wait for incoming data in the buffer? (more like a slave device?)

Any advice or experience would be great!!

1 Like

Hello @Embring - thank you for your comments, those are greatly appreciated.