Random() seems to be very biased towards positive numbers. how to mitigate?

My level of expertise is pretty low, I have some mild background in Java and QBasic way back when, and otherwise have learned most of the little I know via Daniel’s YT tuts (of which I’ve still many to go through).

But my main interest is playing around with random number generation and noise. I’ve noticed repeatedly that when I call for a random value in a manner such as “random(-5, 5)” for example, that the results tend to be very skewed towards the positive end of that range. Right now, I’m basically working with a simple randomly moving point atop a faint graph, and with the applied force that moves the point drawing from that pool of random values on each loop, the point invariably is in the bottom right quadrant (positive x value, positive y value) the vast majority of the time, even though in theory it should be pretty much evenly distributed across the quadrants. I find that to get something that feels more evenly distributed, I have to go with a range along the lines of (-7,5). Going to (-10, 5) it starts to skew too heavily into negatives, but anything less than about -7, positives will be disproportionately favored, it seems.

Any guidance on why this is or how to mitigate it? I know more or less how to use the “noise” function, but that’s not what I’m after here.

Thanks for anyone who can provide some clarity to this issue.

Ahh, 5 minutes after posting, I figure it out…

I tested the random function free of any other context, and got a much more even-seeming distribution of numbers. So checking my code more carefully, I realized the problem must stem from a bit I had added wherein on each loop, the random value (‘fsx’, and ‘fsy’) get divided by 2. Then I had added a modifier wherein once the value of either became less than .01, it reset to a new random # between -5 and 5.