Questions about my Color Array

Hi, I’m new to programming and have a few questions about a small piece of code that I am currently writing in Processing 3. So at the moment I have an array with four different colors in it that represent the four different seasons and when I left click, it randomly picks a color from the list. Currently when I click, there’s a chance that the new color will be a duplicate of what I already have. What I’m looking for is something that removes the current color from the array temporarily and adds it back to the array once changed to a different color.

I also need help in fading the colors from one to the other as you click. Any and all help is much appreciated.

color[] colors = { 
  color(93,177,227), 
  color(166,187,204), 
  color(221,186,138), 
  color(76,112,187)

};
int index;

void setup() {
  size(500, 500);
  pick();
}

void pick() {
  index = int(random(colors.length));
}

void draw() {
  background(colors[index]);
}

void mousePressed() {
  pick();
}
void pick() {
  int newIndex;

do newIndex = (int) random(colors.length);
  while (newIndex == index);

index = newIndex;
}

You described one algorithm for doing what you want to do:

• Remove the current index
  • Choose new index randomly from the remaining
  • Re-add old index

But there are others. @GoToLoop gives one alternate algorithm:

• Randomly choose a new index
  • Check if new equals old. If it does, re-choose and check again.

…and there are even more approaches.

My personal favorite is to spin the index randomly by between 1 and to n-1 positions. So, if you imagine your choices as a 4-quarter pie, you are going to randomly spin it by between 1-3 positions. That way you will never repeat as long as you have 2 or more items.

void setup(){
  int[] vals = {0, 10, 20, 30};
  int index = 0;
  // print 9 non-repeating values
  for(int i = 0; i < 9; i++){
    index = spin(index, vals.length);
    println(vals[index]);
  }
}

/**