Question about the correct usage of the thread() method and it's application to my code

Hi, I am rather new to processing and I was trying out the thread() method to speed up my code and run multiple instances of different sorting algorithms I’ve been developing lately, please note that I have just a basic understanding of threads.

My idea would be that I run the heaviest portions (sorting algorithms) via thread and have on draw() basically only a few lines of code that show the time passing and visualizing the state of the array I am sorting.

The problem is that if I, for instance, sort an array holding 100, 1000 or 10 000 the timer will always show the same time since the draw() methods “lags” which I thought wouldn’t be the case with threads

Here is the code, I included the “Sorter” and “Blubble” classes so that you may try the code yourself, but I’d immagine the problem is most likely nested in the draw(), Sorter is an abstract class which Bubble inherits from

I use threads in this program in the followign manner: I have a tread() in the setup() which executes “avanza”, a method of the class Bubble that basically cycles through the array once, that continues until the array is sorter, at which point sorter.get(0).fine equals to true.

to replicate the “error” just edit the followin line: sorter.add(new Bubble(1000,true)); at line 8 with increasingly bigger numbers.

ArrayList<Bubble>sorter=new ArrayList<Bubble>();
int frame=0;
void setup() {
  size(1000, 1200);
  stroke(0);
  strokeWeight(1);
  fill(204, 102, 0);
  sorter.add(new Bubble(1000,true));
  thread("Thread");
}
void draw() {
  background(200);
  stroke(0);
  sorter.get(0).disegnaColonne();
  if(!sorter.get(0).fine)frame++;
  textSize(70);
  text(frame, 100, 101);
  sorter.get(0).pointer(sorter.get(0).pivot);
  println(sorter.get(sorter.size()-1).fine);
}
public void Thread(){
  do{
  for(Sorter s:sorter)
    if(!s.fine)s.Avanza();
  }while(!sorter.get(0).fine);
}
abstract class Sorter{