Pyramid Rect Pattern

Hello! I’m making a pyramid pattern with rects using for loops.

It’s a bit hard to explain, but basically, I would like to divide a square canvas into four triangular quadrants and fill each side with pyramids made from rects! The left and right sides have 20 bricks on the lowest row and work their way up to one, and the same goes for the top and bottom, but they only start with 19 bricks.

I was given this reference code for the right side. I do not need the solution for the entire code above, if someone could only explain what is happening in this code (as it’s quite confusing for me and I have no idea what’s going on)! I mainly need help with the operations going on in the rect(). (I also know all the method things and stuff like that, I’m just confused about the actual part where the pyramid is being drawn.)

I am pretty new to Processing and coding as a whole, so please excuse me being quite plainly dumb!

Thank you in advance!

float rbw, rbh, rbx, rby;

void setup(){
 size(400, 400); 

drawRightSideBricks();
}

void drawRightSideBricks(){
 rbw = (width/2)/20;
 rbh = height/20;
 rbx = width - rbw;
 rby = 0;

for (int j=0; j<20; j++){
   for (int i=0; i<20-j; i++){
     fill(200, 50, 50);
     stroke(255);
     rect(rbx-j*rbw, rby+i*rbh, rbw, rbh);
   }
   rby += rbh/2;
 }
}
1 Like

Hi @chemicalite

I commented the code and added 2 new variables in hope that you would better understand the code:

int horNb, vertNb;

void setup() {
  size(400, 400); 

horNb = 5;
  vertNb = 5;

drawRightSideBricks();
}

void drawRightSideBricks() {
  rbw = (width / 2) / horNb; // Get width of your bricks
  rbh = height / vertNb;     // Get height of your bricks
  rbx = width - rbw;         // The x position of the first brick you place. It is the top right brick and it represents the top left corner of that brick since the rect function uses this the top left corner of the rectange to draw a rectangle