Processing vs Processing Py

Hello,
I’ve been using Processing on and off for a number of years. I’ve also played around with P5 JS so I know what to expect from that platform.

As it happens I am also a Python programmer though my Python programming has been limited to data processing applications.

My question is for Processing Py users who started out using straight Processing and subsequently migrated to Processing Py. I’d like to know what has your experience been migrating to Processing Py? Was there a significant learning curve? What were your biggest challenges? What do you see as being the benefits of Processing Py over standard Processing?

Thanks in advance. Your answers will help me to decide whether or not I should consider migrating to Processing Py.

Jim

1 Like

I started with Processing years ago (before Processing.py), which inspired me to explore various creative coding environments.

Was there a significant learning curve?
It’s Java Processing with Python syntax. Same functions, features, etc. If you already know Processing and have some Python experience, I’d say it’s simple to switch. I’d recommend reading this: https://py.processing.org/tutorials/python-jython-java/

What were your biggest challenges?
I’ve had some issues with the compatibility of certain Processing libraries. Also, Jython has it’s limitations (no libraries with a C extension). Generally speaking, I’ve been able to work around these issues.

What do you see as being the benefits of Processing Py over standard Processing?
I prefer Python to Java/JS. Processing is popular for teaching and Python is a great language for first-time programmers, so Processing + Python seems an ideal combo.

3 Likes

Thanks for your insights.