Possibility to avoid redraw with virtual mouse cursor

I am developing a little game with p5.js in which I need to draw my own mouse cursor (for reasons that are not so important). Apart from the mouse cursor, the game has mostly static content and each frame consist of around 1-5 elements (images, basic shapes, text). At the moment, each frame is constantly redrawn.

I realized that the game is pretty CPU heavy, especially in Firefox. I already found out that this becomes (in my case) not better, when I use createGraphics() to create screens already during setup. The problem is not the creation of content, but the constant redrawing.

As far as my understanding goes (I’m very new to p5.js), when using a virtual mouse cursor as in my case, I have no choice to avoid constant redrawing, right? The virtual mouse cursor can be anywhere on the screen, can occlude any element and its position should be constantly updated. Or is there any trick I could pull?

edit: not sure if this is relevant, but the virtual mouse cursor uses requestPointerLock() and is moved according to movedX/movedY

Hello @monade,

It’s up to you how often to draw the cursor, but most naturally is to do it once every time draw is called. Default is 60 times per second on most computers, but you can change that using the frameRate() function.

Redrawing the virtual mouse pointer every frame is reasonable and shouldn’t be heavy on the CPU/GPU. Are you experiencing slowdowns that you think is caused by the mouse drawing routine?

Thanks for your quick reply! I indeed want to redraw the cursor every frame draw() is called.