p5.Vector functions in instance mode with Angular 8

I have never used p5 as instance in a web app before and p5.vector functions are not working. All other p5 functions are working, but when I use a datatype from p5 like p5.Vector, the setMag or setLimit functions are not working. But p5.Vector.add seems to be working.

attract(body : HeavenlyBody){
                let f : p5.Vector;
                let r : p5.Vector;
                f = p5.Vector.add(this.pos, body.pos);
                r = f.mag();
                let force: p5.Vector = r;
                force.setMag((this.G * body.mass) / Math.pow(r, 2));
                force.setLimit(this.maxForce);
                this.acc.setMag(force);
            }
1 Like

Method p5.Vector::mag() returns a numeric floating value, not a new p5.Vector instance: :face_with_monocle:

1 Like

Oh, my bad…I must have changed the names while trying to debug. But even with f.mag() it’s still not working.

let f : p5.Vector;
                let r : number;
                f = p5.Vector.sub(this.pos, body.pos);
                r = f.mag();
                let force: p5.Vector = f.copy();
                force.setMag((this.G * body.mass) / Math.pow(r, 2));
                force.setLimit(this.maxForce);

You still haven’t explained what exactly isn’t working. Is there any error message? :face_with_thermometer:

Are properties this.pos & body.pos of datatype p5.Vector and properly initialized? :thinking:

“the setLimit and setMag functions are not working. But p5.Vector.add seems to be working.”
…
error: ERROR TypeError: “force.setLimit is not a function”
Yeah, they are p5.Vector types defined in the class.

pos : p5.Vector;
            vel : p5.Vector;
            acc : p5.Vector;

&&
PRoperly initialized :

this.pos = p.createVector(x, y);
                this.vel = p.createVector(dx, dy);
                this.acc = p.createVector(0, 0);