Output in Text file or spreadsheet possible with Processing?

Hello dear Processing-Community!
I am completely new to Processing as well as relatively new to programming in general. Someone suggested to use Processing for a task I wanted to achieve but now other people are telling me it is difficult or easier to do with other tools.
So here’s my task and the related questions:
What I want to do is

• take any b&w photo (greyscale rather) and load it into the programm
  • get the size in pixel of the image
  • create an array (I think) which is the size of the image (say 600 pixel x 400 pixel)
  • write the greyscale numbers (from 0 to 255) into that array
  • save the array in a text file (table) so that the greyscale value is taking the place of the equivalent pixel
  • create a second output file that lists next to a certain greyscale number all the coordinates of all the pixels that are in that greyscale.

To illustrate what I want, I have created a small graphic:

Is this possible with Processing?
If yes, then is there maybe someone who can help me with it (paid of course) or do you know where I can find someone who could help me with it?

Hope I made myself clear, thanks in advance!
Astrid

1 Like

It’s completely possible, and pretty easy. It might not be the fastest or most efficient way to do this, as streams, readers, writers and other raw Java stuff can accomplish this better, but it’s certainly understandable.

Hold on, I’ll reply to this thread in a few minutes with a Processing sketch that does everything.

Oh, thanks! Already good to know it can be done!

Well, about an hour later, I’m done.
The code below does the task, with some commentaries to tell what’s going on.