Nested canvases?

Hello,

I’m new to p5.js, javascript, etc… I would like to have a canvas inside another canvas.

Here is my current code, it works but is it a bad idea ? And if so, why ?

const sketch1 = p5 => {
  p5.setup = () => {
    const canvas = p5.createCanvas(p5.windowWidth, p5.windowHeight);
    canvas.mouseOver(() => { console.log("mouse entered canvas of sketch 1"); });
    canvas.mouseOut(() => { console.log("mouse left canvas of sketch 1"); });
    p5.background("grey");
    p5.text("sketch1", 10, 20);
  };
};

const sketch2 = p5 => {
  p5.setup = () => {
    const canvas = p5.createCanvas(100, 100);
    canvas.mouseOver(() => { console.log("mouse entered canvas of sketch 2"); });
    canvas.mouseOut(() => { console.log("mouse left canvas of sketch 2"); });
    p5.background("white");
    p5.text("sketch2", 10, 20);
  };
};

const div = document.createElement("div");
div.style.position = "absolute";
div.style.left = "50%";
div.style.top = "50%";
div.style.transform = "translate(-50%, -50%)";
document.getElementsByTagName("body")[0].appendChild(div);

new p5(sketch1);
new p5(sketch2, div);

Or can it be improved? I would like to get rid of the div if possible, I think it’s an ugly hack, but again, I know nothing…

Or should I really use createGraphics instead ? How to easily replicate the mouse events then ?

[EDIT] I’ve just realized that the mouse events can be attached to the element returned by createGraphics as well !

1 Like

I don’t think there’s a need to use a nested div. Instead, draw the second canvas/PGraphic onto the main. (Sounds like you already started looking into this :+1:)

1 Like