Need some help in creating a simulation

Hey people! I’m really new to processing and programming as a whole and I’m trying to do a simulation of a terrain with pseudo-realistic river flow logic. Its a 2D array with perlin noise that does the trick for the terrain which is colour coded (every x and y has a random colour attributed to its rectangle in the grid that shows its height/altitude). I would want to know how can I make so that the program knows how to only place “river tiles” when a tile has almost the same colour but higher (in this case, darker) than the next one so the river is in constant downfall. So there would only be rivers where there are inclinations and not just to generate them based in “from this height to this height its river”. The code is as it follows:

int cols,rows;
int scale =25;
int w = 1800;
int h = 950;

float[][] terrain;

void setup(){
  size(1800,950);
  cols = w/scale;
  rows = h/scale;

terrain = new float[cols][rows];
    float yoff=0;
  for (int y = 0; y < rows; y++) {
    float xoff=0;
  for(int x = 0; x < cols; x++) {
    terrain[x][y] = map(noise(xoff,yoff),0,1,0,255);
     xoff+=0.2;
 }
     yoff+=0.2;
}
}
void draw(){
  noStroke();
for (int y = 0; y < rows; y++) {
  for(int x = 0; x < cols; x++) {
    fill(139,terrain[x][y],19);
    rect(x*scale, y*scale, scale, scale);
}
}

}

Hi @Toninuin,

I guess a naive approach would consist in picking “starting” cells (rectangles) at a specific height or with a specific noise value and, for each of them, find the neighboring cell with the closest height/noise value (either higher or lower than current one). Once found, these neighboring cells would become the new “starting” cells in turn and the previous starting cells would be marked as visited.

This routine can be repeated until either:

• all neighboring cells are marked as visited
  • no higher (or lower, if going downhill) noise values are found in the neighborhood

Example sketch with annotations in Python mode: