Need help with rotating a shape

Hi guys I am new to processing. I am trying to make a spaceship in an asteroid game. I have to make the spaceship using the 4 points using quad shape. The spaceship moves across the screen which is pretty simple by changing the y- coordinate. I need the ship to turn when a specific key is pressed to right and left. Can this be done with trigonometry? any help would be appreciated.

If you write a minimal working sketch that serves as a starting point it is easier to give the help that you need. Because the code shows a little where you are and where you are headed.

But essentially you want to use the rotate() function which you can find on processing.org/reference

See here: https://discourse.processing.org/t/how-do-i-draw-an-angular-space-with-a-quad

Please format you code by highlighting it and pressing the </> button.

What you can do is you can use a boolean to mark if a button has been pressed. And then if another button is pressed, the boolean is set to false. Then you use the boolean to decide whether you should keep rotating or not. Here is a seudocode:

void keyPressed(){
  if(key is d or D){
    rotateToTheLeft is true;
  } else rotateToTheLeft is false;
if(key is a or A){
    rotateToTheRight is true;
  } else rotateToTheRight is false;
}

void draw(){
  if(rotateToTheLeft) rotate to the left;
  if(rotateToTheRight) rotate to the right;
}

I see I I might have misunderstood what you wanted. If you want the spacecraft to continue to rotate until the button is released then you can just set the boolean to false in keyReleased(). keyPressed() detects when a key is being pressed down and keyReleased() detects when a key is released. But if you use keyPressed() in draw like this: if(keyPressed) {} the function will be called every time draw is called and a button is being pressed. So you could do that as well.