Need help: Grid with increasing number of columns + incremental greyscale gradient

Hi

I’m trying to do something like this in p5:

I’m a total beginner, so I think this should be pretty basic stuff for most :slight_smile:
So far I’ve got this snippet of code:

function setup() {
    createCanvas(windowWidth, windowHeight);
}

function draw() {

background(0);

let amountX = windowWidth / 8;
    let amountY = windowHeight / 4;
    let spaceX = width / amountX;
    let spaceY = height / amountY;

for (let y = 0; y < amountY; y++) { 
      for (let x = 0; x < amountX; x++) { 
        let posX = x*spaceX;
        let posY = y*spaceY;
        let w = spaceX;
        let h = spaceY;

fill(y * 35, y * 35, y * 35);

rect(posX, posY, w, h);
      }
    }
  }
  1. I’m having trouble figuring out how to divide amountX / Y with the width/height to always make the grid be contained within the canvas?

2. How can I make the next column/row in the loop increment by x2?

3. How can I set a greyscale gradient that only has a set amount of steps before starting over?

Hope that someone can help. Animation will have to wait until I figure out the basics of this :slight_smile:

Sorry for a bad explanation, I’m a bit tired, so I can’t go into the details; (I made it in processing not p5)

Code
void setup() {
  size(600,300);
  noStroke();
}

void draw() {
  background(0);
  float hh = 300;
  for(int i = 0; i < 5; i++) {
    float m = pow(2,i);
    for(int j = 0; j < m; j++) {
      displayGradient(width/m*j,hh*(m-1),width/m,hh,10,color(255,0,0),color(0,0,255));
    }
    hh*=0.5;
  }
}

void displayGradient(float x, float y, float w, float h, float n, color start, color end) {
  rect(x,y,w,h);
  for(int i = 0; i < n; i++) {
    float ww = w/n;
    fill(lerpColor(start,end,map(i,0,n,0,1)));
    rect(x+i*ww,y,ww,h);
  }
}

Essentially, I made a function that creates the singular gradient lerp cell.
After that, just create a function that positions them correctly.

1 Like

Hi abk,