Multiple transformations

Hi! I’m pretty new to coding, and am having an issue with the transformations in my code. My program is quite long so I’ve just used a rectangle as an example here. I’m trying to make the object spiral in a small circle as it shrinks down (think whirlpool/flushing motion), but I just can’t make it work. I thought my order of operations was the issue but it seems not because I’ve tried a number of combinations.

float x = 50;
float y = 50;
float rad = 0;
float move=1;
float big=1

void setup () {
size (500, 500);
}

void draw () {
background (150);
rect (x, y, 50, 50);
x = x+move;
y = y+move;

if (x > 200) {
move = 0.35;
pushMatrix();
translate(200, 200);
rotate (rad);
scale (big);
big = big *.1
rad = rad + 1;
popMatrix();
}
}

What am I doing wrong???

There are several things wrong.

1. the transformations have no effect because there are no drawing commands between the push and popMatrix statements
  2. you use x and y to position the rectangle but if you use translate(200,200) then the drawing will be at 200+x, 200+y
  3. rad = rad + 1 is wrong because rotations and angles in computing are measuered in radians and this rotates the box about 53.7 degrees per frame and at 60 frames per second
  4. big = big * .1 is wrong because it is too fast after three frames (~0.05 seconds) the box will be 0.05 pixels wide.
  5. if you want the box to rotate about its centre then you need to use rectMode(CENTER)

I have corrected your code see below

float x = 50;
float y = 50;
float rad = 0;
float move=1;
float big=1;

void setup () {
  size (500, 500);
  rectMode(CENTER);
}

void draw () {
  background (150);
  if (x > 200) {
    move = 0.35;
    pushMatrix();
    translate(200, 200);
    rotate (rad);
    scale (big);
    big = big *.99;
    rad = rad + 0.11;
    rect (0, 0, 50, 50);
    popMatrix();
  } else {
    x = x+move;
    y = y+move;
    rect (x, y, 50, 50);
  }
}

BTW welcome to the forum :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes:

2 Likes