Multiple classes eclipse with processing

Hey!

So I am new to processing and would love some help with how to get multiple classes working in eclipse with processing

this is my code:

This is one class “mouse”:

import processing.core.PApplet;

public class Mouse extends PApplet {
	public void setup() {

background(0);
	}

public void settings() {
		size(800, 800);
	}

public void draw() {
		stroke(255);
		line(0, 0, mouseX, mouseY);

}
}

And this is the “main class”:

import processing.core.*;

public class Tester extends PApplet {

public static void main(String[] args) {

PApplet.main("Tester");

}

}

I am not sure how to continue from here, it is not like processing where you can have everything in the “main” tab…

1 Like

You should start a bit further back, understanding how processing pre-processes a *.pde is very instructive:-

Processing caches it’s compiled java classes and a .java file every time you run a sketch, Apple will change where in the /var/folders/ directory this is. The fastest way to find the current location is to create a new sketch, don’t save it and press command+k which will open up the subdirectory of /var/folders/ where the sketch is temporarily stored.

Anyway should basically check that you understand what is going on, this will set you in good stead. Basically processing creates inner classes so that they can inherit methods etc from PApplet, you might not want to do that so, you need to know that you can access static methods using PApplet or instance methods on your instance of PApplet.

1 Like

The class containing processings setup, settings, and draw methods should also contain your main method.
All other classes that are not processing sketches don’t need to extend PApplet.

If you want to have those classes use processing methods like “point(x, y)” for example, you will have to pass your main class (“Mouse” in this case)

public class Mouse extends PApplet {

public static void main(String[] args) 
    {